November 2017

Now open for submissions until 31 July 2017.

Visit here to submit. 

Featuring new films of 20 minutes or less and co-curated by Gareth Evans (Whitechapel Gallery) and Nora Foster (Frieze), the Swedenborg Film Festival invites entries from the latest emerging and established talent of experimental and artist film, exploring the theme of 'dreams'. 

Selected films will be screened in November 2017 at Swedenborg Hall, ‘one of London’s most atmospheric venues’ (The Guardian). 

Shortlisted films will be shown as part of a dynamic curated programme, featuring work by a guest judge (TBA) – who will also choose and announce the winner at the close of the festival. Artists including Bridget Smith, Andrew Kötting, Jeremy Millar and Lech Majewski have shown work at SFF.

Filmmakers are invited to explore the concept of 'dreams' – a theme encountered in the work of scientist, philosopher, theologian and visionary, Emanuel Swedenborg (1688–1772) as well as those he influenced, from William Blake to Jorge Luis Borges. A foundation of the Romantic, Symbolist and Surrealist artistic traditions, Swedenborg was a seminal influence on generations of radical thinkers.

The only film festival in the world inspired by the work of a single philosopher, the SFF has received a huge response from thousands of filmmakers around the world since its launch in 2010. The annual festival was re-launched in July 2015 with an expanded framework, a new competition and a fresh commitment to showing the work of international filmmakers who are engaging with themes similar to those that energized Swedenborg. 

The 2015/16 programme celebrated the award-winning Triptych of the great Polish filmmaker Lech Majewski alongside remarkable shorts by Richard Ashrowan; followed by a dynmaic programme of short films on 24 March, judged by the artist Bridget Smith. In November 2016, a second round of shortlisted films were screened alongside features by John Rogers and guest judge Andrew Kötting. The 2016 winners were Harold Charre, Toby Tatum and Daphne Rosenthal.

Filmmakers worldwide are invited to submit films of 20 minutes or less, which have been made between 1 July 2016 and 31 July 2017. 

Enter via our page at Film Freeway: https://filmfreeway.com/festival/SwedenborgFilmFestival

The SFF is curated by Gareth Evans, writer, presenter, producer (Patience: After Sebald; By Our Selves and Unseen) and Film Curator at the Whitechapel Gallery, London; and Nora Foster, formerly Assistant Curator, the Swedenborg Society and now Communications Manager, Frieze.